Home > anxiety, Elective Mutism, IEP, Mute, Selective Mutism, Shy, shyness > Meet the new student body president

Meet the new student body president

The wonders of the junior year ending have now turned to thoughts of college and his first summer job. He came and told us  a few months back that he was going to run for historian. When we asked why, he said that there was a girl who thinks she should be student body president and he did not want to lose and be off student government next year.

My reaction was to say, he should go for it.  He won last year as Jr class president, why not try.  It was better for him to lose and know he lost, than to just win to be safe.  We had come so far, yet I still hold my breath, almost sometimes breathless, at what he attempts and does.

He was not going for it and I was worried.  The time for the election drew near, papers needed to be signed, signatures gathered. I kept my positive tone by saying you can do it and it is more that he tries then not try at all.

He decided to go for it… The election was held and he won student body president, and on the path to the vote, he had to speak to the entire school, speak to teachers, speak to the administration, basically state his vision for the school, knowing that he was to represent the school at district meetings, welcome the freshman, lead the student council.  However, I also learned that this position comes with the biggest speech of his life….which is at graduation, when he is one of three keynote speakers during graduation. Oh the places he is going, when there were days, years and times, I thought a single word was hope.

He is now going into Senior Year as Student Body President, my selectively mute as a young child turned student leader.  Still takes my breath away. Some of the students have been friends of his since the days he could not speak.  They sometimes remind him of  how far he has come. 

I have asked him to add to this blog, since he now knows it exists.  He says he has read it and wonders why I would do such a thing. I won’t repeat the word he call it, but at least it’s an expressive word….

 He says he will write for the blog and perhaps use what he writes for his college essay on overcoming adversity of having selective mutism as a way of defining himself and helping others.

  1. LMS
    June 10, 2013 at 5:54 am

    I’m so glad that I found your blog! I have a 4 yr old with SM and your son’s story is very comforting. Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

