Home > alternative medicine, anxiety, Elective Mutism, family, health, Mute, Selective Mutism, self healing, Shy, shyness > Should we remind our son that he had selective mustim?

Should we remind our son that he had selective mustim?

I have written this blog to chronicle for others the paths we took with our son who had Selective Mutism, it starts at the bottom of the posts and reads up.  I have recently asked my son of what he remembers about the condition and would he remember at all that he was selectively mute?

It turns out he does remember and he remembers it in pieces, but not all pieces.  He remembers not talking in school, but not that we took him to a psychologist. He remembers that we tried a lot of things, but is not sure what we did. He remembers teachers coming to visit at the house, but he did not remember that we had a family member who was a school teacher come to observe him in the classroom setting.  It is a real patch work of memories.

I also came across a picture of him with other students in his preschool the other day and the blank look on his face was clearly there, and he was participating by hitting a pinata. This was so typical of a selectively mute child to participate but in silence.  His face changed dramatically from happy engaged child driving to school to a blank expressionless zombie face every day he was in pre school.

He remembers it as the way he was, he remembers clearly when the mutism broke.  He remembers when the things broke on the table and from that time on he could speak.

I will ask him to chronicle it from his remembrance when he is older. Someday I will ask him to add to the blog. But at the moment he is not looking back and his future is very bright.  He already in jr. high knows he wants to go to college at Standford or Harvard and we know he has the will, the brains and the voice to get there.

When I started this blog I never imagined it would have as many who seek it out or that I would have so much to tell on the subject.

 

So yes we did remind our son that he had selective mutism and he was not bothered in the least.

 

Be sure to start at the beginning of the Archives in Feb and read forward by month to get the full picture of selective mutism, what happened and how it was overcome. 

  • Archives

  • Advertisements
    1. Bonnie
      July 25, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      I just read this older post and it literally made me cry. My son is 7 and has SM. He has all of the characteristics mentioned in these posts. To think that he will someday get to where your children currently are, an possibly achieve what they have, makes me well up with hope and optimism. I have an appt. with his elementary school teacher this week to discuss his SM and how we can make his transition into 2nd grade a comfortable one for him. I am afraid for him. Afraid he will be bullied because he doesn’t say “boo”, afraid he will be scared when called to read in class. I wish I could take all of the fear on for him, but I know it is all a part of growing up too. I hope his upcoming days at scholl are good to him. I hope the teachers are patient and the children are friendly. Not everyone understands and it is difficult on all of us. When talking to my son’s pediatrician about his condition and the stress it sometimes puts on our family when our son won’t say the simplest of things like “Hello” or a “Thank You”, that it can be “embarrasing”, he said to me “No, it is heartbreaking”. His pediatrician said the words I had wanted to say for so long. It is “heartbreaking”, and I only want my son to be happy.

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Leave a Reply

