Home > alternative medicine, anxiety, Elective Mutism, family, health, Mute, Selective Mutism, self healing, Shy, shyness > Lack of eye contact, delayed speech, inflexibility with transitions.

Lack of eye contact, delayed speech, inflexibility with transitions.

I did look today at the Generation Rescue web site to see what other info could be learned.  I was stunned to see the passage below that was on their web site for Generationrescue.org.  As I read, I could check all of the things listed, and that I had chronicled in my blog that I saw and experienced  with my son with selective mutism. I have underlined them below.  This info below was written for autism, but all of them applied to my son with selective mustism.  I really do not know why this would be the case, but it is.  I will keep searching for answers.

Was there a detoxofication of my child that I was doing and not aware that it was of benefit.  I was very focused on this diet at that time, since I felt there may be a connection. I had at the time had the homeopath rule out mercury or metals. He did have him add flax oils to his diet.  Perhaps the pieces came together by accident?

This is a quote from Generationrescue.org:

Treatment: What’s Biomedical Treatment?
Childhood Neurological Disorders (NDs) are typically diagnosed by professionals with psychology and psychiatry backgrounds. Parents are often told that their children’s diagnosis is the result of genes and is psychological in nature. Typical “psychological” manifestations of these NDs in children may include delayed speech, lack of eye contact, impaired or non-present social skills, shyness, perseverative behavior (doing the same thing repeatedly), delayed gross or fine motor skills, sensory integration issues (sound and touch sensitivity, etc.), not responding to one’s name, inflexibility with transitions, and major, often unexplained, changes in mood.
Yet, the physical or medical issues that our children often share are rarely noted or discussed. Typical physical manifestations of children with NDs may include food allergies and eczema, general gastrointestinal distress, constipation and diarrhea, yeast overgrowth, immune system disregulation, and sleep disturbances. Typically, proper testing would also reveal high levels of environmental toxins relative to neurotypical children.
  1. September 13, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    ..] Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A ..]
    http://comprarlevitra.blogvis.com/

  2. November 12, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Excellent blog! Interesting article and very informative! I will necessarily subscribe for this blog. http://movie-cool.com/map.html

  3. September 10, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. Isabel
    February 16, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    I had SM when a child – now in my Fifties and still affected by it. I was not diagnosed, things not known about in those days. Anyway. I don’t think I have autism. Always been addicted to sugary things – sweets & choc. Don’t think it really agrees with me but the only thing in my life. Don’t drink, smoke or go out. Gotta have something. Never really been ill. Never been to hospital. Never had anything major. As a child had lots of tonsillitis. Mum says I was a very good baby. Very quiet. No problem. Very chatty at home and told them all about my day at school. I didn’t speak at school and not really mixed in with others. I just observed what happened and reported this back to home as I thought this was what they wanted to hear. They just didn’t realise that I wasn’t involved. This carried on into my early forties when someone said how boring I was and I could then look at it from their point of view and see it for what it was. Perhaps I should have been reporter on a celebrity paper and at least I could have been paid for my observations. Since being told how boring and I realise that it is. I have stopped reporting my days observations at all, and consequently have nothing much to say.
    I have always hated my name. Never wanted to respond to it. Several times I have been aware of being called out from my fantasy world to someone shouting my name at me and then realsing they mean me. (thoughts are “they mean me, thats what I’m called now”). But I don’t know what I expect them to call me. Why call me at all.
    Leave me alone. At school, I did all in my head, always knew the answers whilst others struggling to come up with them. I used to mime in assembly and also when I was put in the choir. In fact at my grandads funeral I mimed the songs and psalsm we read out loud. That is so sad. and I don’t know why. I would love to offer advice regarding SM, but I cannot say what would help. My main aim was not to be noticed and keep busy learning.
    Every time attention brought to me I would be as vacant as poss. Rigid not even occupying body until they went away. No cajooling of any kind, any bribe would work. Still wouldn’t now. Although I have to give in certain ways to get through the world of work. Still at menial level although I have experience and knowledge to do so much more. Held back. I hope you can all get help for your kids and so they don’t go through what I have. I have avoidant personality disorder now. Prozac helps. If I could go back in time and be offered prozac as a child even at a low dose. I would say yes, yes, yes. Because you need to belong, need to fit in. Anything to be free of it. To have friends and my own real stories to pass on to family. High School – dropped everything I could that involved discussion groups, communication skills etc, or went sick on the day. Many times picked on in class and just went blank, red faced, until they gave up and went on to someone else. So glad when school finished. Yet I am highly intelligent, very good with numbers/maths/accountancy. Couldn’t get qualified due to the stupid communication, you have to do a presentation in front of people. Bye Bye.

  5. Wendy
    March 14, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    Thank you for publishing so much useful information. I am raising a grand daughter who is a selective mute. I am grateful that her teacher and school psychologist are working with me and allowing me to tape her verbal work. We were taping at home but I now come to the school to tape her, which is making her more comfortable with talking in school.

  1. April 14, 2008 at 4:17 am

Leave a Reply

