Home > alternative medicine, anxiety, Elective Mutism, family, health, Mute, Selective Mutism, self healing, Shy, shyness > A flyer from Generation Rescue caught my eye at my doctor office.

A flyer from Generation Rescue caught my eye at my doctor office.

I had just finished my last blog on selective mutism and my gut feel that vaccines may be ground zero, when I was checking out from my chiropractor’s appointment. As I was at the check out there was a flyer taped up on the wall that read, “Are we poisoning our kids in the name of protecting their health? ”  Now this caught my attention and I asked if she would make me a copy.  It was from Generation Rescue, which I know nothing about and have never heard of before.  www.generationrescue.org. But it laid out the case for autism rate in 1983 of 1 in 10,000 with 10 shots required. And in 2008, 1 to 150 with 36 shots required. In small print at the bottom was a thank you to Jim Carrey and  Jenny McCarthy for their support of this organization. I had just seen her book on Autism at the Barnes and Noble when I was trying to find a book on selective mutism.  Could we both be on the same path for different conditions?  This info caught my attention.

 

I wonder has anyone looked at rates of selective mutism pre or post the vaccine increase?  Is there a celebrity who had or child has selective mutism who can lend a face to this condition? The flyer talked about neurodevelomental disorders.  Could selective mustim be part effected by vaccines? 

Perhaps the autism focus and research will lead to answers that will gain traction with selective mutism? I know that my sons tourette sydrome acts up after vaccines are given, so why would it not create the issues with selective mutism that would prevent speech?

 

I also spoke to a gentleman at the airport who enlightened me that the sense of smell goes directly to the back of the brain is not influenced by areas in the front part of the brain.  Thus my sons heightened sense of smell would not be influenced with his language part of the brain, that was effected be the select mutism.  It is all small pieces of the puzzle I am still trying to put together.

 

  1. Jenny Prefontaine
    April 15, 2008 at 6:49 am

    I love your blog (just discovered it) and the fact that you are not only defining & describing this practically unknown and often misunderstood condition and going into details that are SO difficult for parents w/SM kids to find online or elsewhere to “prove” to their teachers – but you are also questioning the unknown, bringing up topics that are fascinating and totally possible such as connecting immunization shots to SM, not just autism. There is always a pioneer, a person who is considered to have outlandish ideas at the time, then we find out they were spot on, a year or more later!! (I will check out generationrescue) Thank you for your amazing references and the way you brought all these resources together. There are parents (and teachers hopefully) out there who are finding data on the internet that is saving their child’s/student’s life!! Helping someone cope with day to day, terrifying situations (albeit indirectly), is more than special. Kids need us to help them with this since they cannot help themselves. Thank you again!

  2. Kris Neyman
    July 26, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Thank You Karen for reaching out to us mother’s who are looking for answers and questions. I am a proud mother of a seven year old boy who might have AD and 4 years old identical twin girls diagnosed with selective mutism. The girls were happy infants, health. They met all their milestones. The only delay was speech. At 18 months old they would start to hide in their stroller for watchful eyes and admirers. By two years old I had the girls evaluated for speech. They tested at the level of an 11 month old. They started intervention once a week in home. Slow progress. They could say two word sentences at home by three years old. Last year at three years of age they were in a headstart pre-school class. They were combined with well children and had speech therapy three times a week. Keep in mind the girls would not even talk to my husband or myself on most occasions. This May I had a mother tell me about a Neurological chiropractor. I brought all of my children in to be tested and cared for. The minute one of my girls got off of his table she was laughing and running around touching things. My girls always looked like statues wherever we would go. They would sit on my lap emotionless for hours if we were out in public. Today 2 1/2 months later my girls are approaching some people outside the family and will talk to friends after warming up to them. The girls have speech therapy and say whatever the teacher asks them to say. Last summer they would not say a word the whole semester. One of my daughters is allergic to all sun blocks and my son is allergic to grasses, ragweed, and dust mites. My neurological chiropractor told me he thinks that my children have sensitive immune systems. He thought that if I continued to vaccinate my children they might become worse for it. The doctor also told me about enviromental genetics. We all have genes and some are on and some are turned off. Researchers are finding out that foods and vaccines can be a on off switch to these genes. Lets say that a vaccine at 18 months caused my daughters’ speech gene to turn off. Their neurological chiropractor tuned up my daughters nervous system so that it could then tell the nonfunctioning part of their brains to turn on again. Now if I go in and have there 4 year old vaccines…MMR. This could change and reverse all of our progress. In fact, I am worried that one or both of my girls could wind up autistic. I say this because, the developmental pediatrician told me she say autistic tendencies in one of my daughters and followed by saying “but, I don’t believe she is autistic…” I hope this wasn’t to long of a story but, I feel passionate about our children and I know that there are mothers out there that need to know every detail. I am not an expert and I feel bewildered by all of this new information. I tell anyone who asks what is going on with my girls. I am honest about it all. I hope that the girls are not shamed by them. I have faith in people and change can only happen if we communicate. Best Regards form this 33 year old mother of 3.

  3. Rebekah
    October 30, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I have been wondering if vaccines played any part of the cause of selective mutism. My daughter reached all of her milestones and speech was not an issue – in fact she probably talked early. She was not vaccinated until she was 2 years old when I started her in a private pre-school according to their attorney – if she was going to attend there she had to be vaccinated. So I started her shots. We moved to South Carolina and when she got ready to attend another private pre-school they said I had to have her shot records on the SC form so I went the doctor to do that and I was told that her last shots were given to her 2 days to early so they did not work and she would have to have them again! I was sooooo furious as I didn’t want her to have them at all and now twice! So we did them and we sent her to school. For all of K-3, K-4 and part of K-5 she didn’t say a word to anyone but us (parents and sibling) and only at home. I had never heard of selective mutism until I stumbled across it trying to figure out what was wrong! So we have made SOOOOOOO much progess – the doctor wanted her on prozac and I said no way – so myself and her AWESOME teacher worked very diligently with her and she is a different kid now. We purchased a lot of books and used the help of the selective mutism sights and the advice of other parents. But I have never taken her back for vaccines again – I have just kept quiet and the school has never realized that she did not have her ones before kindergarten and now we are part way into 1st grade. I have wondered in the back of my mind if the vaccines had anything to do with the selective mutism. I was glad to find this blog! If you come across more info I would love to know.

  4. September 4, 2009 at 2:19 am

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

  5. Sydney
    April 1, 2012 at 1:05 am

    My son talked early and had a large vocabulary for his age. After I took him for his 5 year old vaccinations his selective mutism began. He did not talk outside of the home for two years. He spoke to two cousins and not the other two. It was not social anxiety because he was still a leader at school. He would grunt and gesture and the other children understood him. On the playground he was the leader with children running behind him. He was an “A” student with a gifted IQ and is very good looking. He was very popular. The mutism stopped almost immediately when I put him on the Dead Doctors Don’t Lie colloidal vitamins and minerals and gave him colloidal silver. Today he is 22, married and is a gifted composer. I do believe that he underwent cellular detoxification. I do not have anything to do with any products. I am just a mother who knows that my son was damaged by vaccines and that most of the damage has been overcome.

  6. June 27, 2014 at 9:57 am

    So happy to have found your blog!

    I have a daughter that was diagnosed with SM when she was only 5 years old. It has been a long road, and hasn’t always been easy for her. She is now 19 years of age and no longer suffers as severely from SM, but is still labeled as “very shy”.

    I am a nurse, and have been educating myself for the last few years about vaccines, and have often wondered if vaccines could have been a contributing factor to my daughter developing SM.

    So happy to see that I’m not the only one that has asked this question.

  1. April 13, 2008 at 12:14 am

Leave a Reply

